The start of a wedding dress.

I have planned to make my own wedding dress, which seamed to be a crazy idea at one point in time, now I believe that it’s a great idea. Most of my sewing accomplishments have been sewing for my girls, a wedding dress was never on the cards, but now it’s the perfect opportunity to show off some hidden talent.

My wedding has been an idea that has been going around for some time, although it has never really taken off. It’s always ‘Let’s set a date’, then something will happen that pushes it to the back of our minds and we forget about it. After having kids and living together for a long time it’s importance dwindled and faded away. So after thirteen years we’re trying for one last time to make it a reality, if it doesn’t happen this time it’ll have to be Vegas or some far off place. Either way I think we can a great deal of fun.

I have browsed for dresses before and have bought numerous patterns, it is actually the McCalls pattern 5807 style A that I’m planning on using. There will be some modifications made but the overall shape is something that I’m looking for. After all the years of witnessing friends and family getting married I made the decision that a non-white gown was for me. My sketches below show how I’m thinking of sewing it. I’m not entirely sure of the bodice but I’ll try and work the details later.

After making a quick toile (which stills needs some work) I worked out how much fabric I needed and I traveled to Logan to a fine fabrics store and found a shell pink satin that was perfect. A champagne beaded lace completed the look that I was looking for.

So I’m working my way onto my next part the wedding dress adventure and making yet another toile to figure out all the exact details and shape.

IMG_4841-0.JPG

IMG_4839-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

